Back to Top
OWA Member Benefit: Book Selection!        Get Yours Today >
Member Login

2014 OWA Pleiades Honoree

Sherrie Rogerson

2014 Pleiades Award Recipient — Sherrie Rogerson

The Optical Women's Association has selected Sherrie Rogerson as its 2014 Pleiades award recipient to be honored at the OWA's annual event at the Marchon Showroom, on Friday, March 28th from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. "Sherrie has shown exceptional support and dedication to the women of the optical industry through her passion, involvement and commitment to the OWA. I couldn't imagine a more deserving recipient of the Pleiades Award. Congratulations, Sherrie!" said Christie Walker, OWA president.

Sherrie is the Senior Executive of Corporate Accounts, at REM Eyewear, drawing from 25 years of optical experience and a tremendous merchandising background. She has been active with the OWA since joining in 2004. In addition to serving on the board as chair and co-chair of various committees, Sherrie has also had the distinction of serving as OWA President. Her past relationships and networking helped in establishing the organization's Professional Development Fund. In 2003, Sherrie was recognized as one of Vision Monday's Most Influential Woman in Optical. She is also an ABO speaker and has presented retail training programs over the course of the past four years.

"Through the OWA, I have been fortunate to meet and interact with so many fabulous people. And hopefully have passed on some wisdom along the way through the various programs and networking opportunities. One thing I have learned and will always keep with me is that there is power in numbers and the power of these women is inspiring to all. Being on the board of the OWA has been the highlight of my career." said Rogerson.

The Pleiades Award spotlights an individual who has shown commitment to the mission of the OWA by fostering the growth of women in the industry. This award is named for the star cluster Pleiades in the Taurus constellation. The Pleiades is also known as the "Seven Sisters" referring to the seven brightest stars in the cluster.

Press Release

Pleiades Award — Past Honorees

Click on the award winners' names from 2003 forward to see more information about the Pleiades Award recipient.

2024 OWA Pleiades Honoree — Rebecca Giefer

2023 OWA Pleiades Honoree — Karen Roberts

2022 OWA Pleiades Honoree — Erinn Morgan

2021 OWA Pleiades Honoree — Gai Gherardi

2020 OWA Pleiades Honoree — Millicent Knight, OD

2019 OWA Pleiades Honoree — Holly Rush

2018 OWA Pleiades Honoree — Ashley Mills

2017 OWA Pleiades Honoree — Kate Renwick-Espinosa

2016 OWA Pleiades Honoree — Sue Downes

2015 OWA Pleiades Honoree — Maureen Cavanagh

2014 OWA Pleiades Honoree — Sherrie Rogerson

2013 OWA Pleiades Honoree — Marge Axelrad
Press Release

2012 OWA Pleiades Honoree — Shirley Platzer-Stocks
Press Release

2011 OWA Pleiades Honoree — Christie Walker
Press Release

2010 OWA Pleiades Honoree — Danne Ventura
2010 Awards Cocktail Reception and Presentation

2009 OWA Pleiades Honoree — Rene Soltis

2008 OWA Pleiades Honoree — Stephanie K. De Long

2007 OWA Pleiades Honoree — Deborah Malakoff

2006 OWA Pleiades Honoree — Janet Callif

2005 OWA Pleiades Honoree — Mimi Friedfeld

2004 OWA Pleiades Honoree — Dana Weeks

2003 OWA Pleiades Honoree — Carene S. Kunkler — Sight Resource Corporation

2002 OWA Pleiades Honoree — Andrea Gluck — Eyewear Designs

2001 OWA Pleiades Honoree — Tom Styers — Southern Optical

2000 OWA Pleiades Honoree — Pat Patterson — Walman Optical

Check Out OWA's Sponsors