Back to Top
OWA Member Benefit: Book Selection!        Get Yours Today >
Member Login

2016 Vision Expo East


OWA Board of Directors Meeting VEE 2016

The OWA Board of Directors gathered for their Vision Expo bi-annual meeting to determine progress, revisit policies, and ensure that the OWA is moving in the direction of the shared vision and goals of the organization.

2016 OWA Board

The 2016 OWA Board at their annual board meeting at Vision Expo East.
Back Row (Left to Right) Robyn Crimmins (VSP Optics Group), Janet Johnson (Ocuco), Jean Sabre (Uptown Vision), Kate Renwick-Espinosa (VSP — Retiring Board Member), Tiara Claxton (Safilo USA), Deborah Myres (Pacific Northern, Inc.), Heather Smith (Vision Web).
Front Row (Left to Right) Lorie Lippiatt O.D. (Salem Eyecare Center), Christie Walker (Jobson), Maureen Cavanaugh (Vision Impact Institute), Katherine Allen (PFO Global)

You may click on any photograph to download a high-resolution version. There are two albums below: one for OWA Champagne Breakfast Celebrating Women in Leadership, and a second album for the OWA Star Award Ceremony. All photos provided by the OWA, except where otherwise credited.

OWA Champagne Breakfast Celebrating Women in Leadership

OWA Champagne Breakfast Celebrating Women in Leadership
April 14, 2016

Click here for the Champagne Breakfast Program Booklet (Adobe PDF).

The 2nd annual Champagne Breakfast honoring women in leadership was another sold out event and a huge success. Star award honorees Ann Englert and Sue Downes were on hand to give brief presentations on leadership, mentoring and the power of volunteering. Sherianne James, of Transitions Optical, spoke with Christie Walker, Jobson, in an intimate conversation about her path to leadership, and wisdom she gained along the way. Sherianne likened her rise to the top as being a swan. On the surface, the swan seems to be gliding along gracefully, but under the water the swan is paddling as fast as she can to achieve that smooth glide.

Pyxis award honoree Ann Englert joined by previous Pyxis honorees, Lorinda Fraboni and Tiara Claxton

Tom Lamond and Lenor Fowler, Jobson catch up with Sherrie Rogerson, Eyewear Designs.

Champagne breakfast attendees eagerly await to hear from this year's honorees, Ann Englert and Sue Downes

Speaking to the assembled guests, 2016 Pyxis award honoree Ann Englert shares her thoughts and experiences regarding volunteerism, mentoring and the importance of engagement with the OWA.

Sue Downes, 2016 Pleiades award honoree, offers her insights about leadership and the role of mentoring for her own leadership journey.

Sherrianne James (Transitions) and Christie Walker (Jobson) share a laugh as they take questions from attendees in this open forum discussion

Dr. Artis Beatty (MyEyeDr.), Sue Downes (MyEyeDr.), Dr. Lorie Lippiatt (Salem Eyecare Center), and Heather Smith (Vision Web).

Ann Englert with her husband, Tom Nootz.

Heather Smith (Vision Web) and Jean Sabre (Uptown Vision)

Festive table d├ęcor sets the mood for celebrating our honorees

Bruce and Jean Scott (Visions and Beyond LTD.)

Attendees enjoyed keepsake coasters along with the festivities

OWA Star Award Ceremony

OWA Star Award Ceremony
April 16, 2016

At the top of One World Trade Center, the sweeping views of the sun setting behind the city skyline below set the stage for an unforgettable evening at this year's OWA Star Award Ceremony. The venue was breathtaking with vibrant hues of spring and elegant floral accents surrounding attendees. It was a beautiful night for celebrating our two honorees; Sue Downes, who was chosen as the Pleiades Award recipient, and Ann Englert, who was selected as the Pyxis Award recipient.

Pyxis Award Recipient Ann Englert, OWA Immediate Past President Christie Walker, Pleiades Award Recipient Sue Downes, OWA President Heather Smith

Diana Downs (Silhouette) and Ann Englert (Solutions) share a special moment in their friendship on an evening where Ann was being honored.

Tiara Claxton (Safilo USA) and Deborah Myres (Pacific Northern Inc.) are enjoying the custom pillows made for this event.

A stunning welcome to an unforgettable evening

Ann Englert, Pyxis Award Honoree, and Sue Downes, Pleiades Award Honoree

Girls just want to have fun. Heather Smith (Vision Web) and Laurie Badone (Liberty Sport) being photobombed by Tiara Claxton (Safilo USA)

The stage is set to recognize these amazing women for their contributions in the industry

The crowd gathers in eager anticipation of the award ceremony

Jean Sabre (Uptown Vision), Charisse Toale (imatters), and Dr. Lorie Lippiatt (The Salem Eyecare Center, Inc.) holding white roses used to recognize new OWA members

Yvette Carrranza (Digital Vision, Inc.), Lorinda Fraboni (Walman), and Danielle Schlauderaff

Dr. Jack Schaeffer (Schaeffer Eye Center) and Janet Cunningham (First Vision Media Group)

Gail Elias (Henry Ford OptimEyes), Nanette Michaels (Henry Ford OptimEyes), Sandra Conway (Marchon), Deb Rich (Marchon), and Katie Darr (Henry Ford OptimEyes) flashed their best "I wasn't expecting this photo" smile for Jobson photographer John Calabrese. Great job ladies — it came out lovely!

Getting ready for the evening to begin

Elegant floral arrangements added to the ambience of the evening.

No detail was overlooked in order to make it a night sure to be remembered for years to come

Robyn Crimmins (VSP Optics Group), Ann Englert (Solutions), Janet Johnson (Ocuco, Inc.), and Debbie Ftizgibbons (Hilco) smile for the camera

Heather Smith (Vision Web), President of the OWA introducing our honorees for the evening
Photo Credit: John Calabrese, Jobson

ClearVision Optical's Mimi Friedfeld, center, with Peter Friedfeld and Liz Friedfeld.
Photo Credit: John Calabrese, Jobson

Ann Englert and Sue Downes holding their pillow portraits
Photo Credit: John Calabrese, Jobson

Photographer Tony Doddo captured the beautiful transition from evening to nightfall over the city skyline

Sue Downes (MyEyeDr), Claudio Gottardi (Marchon), and Ann Englert (Solutions)
Photo Credit: John Calabrese, Jobson

In wrapping up an event so special, one can't help but think about the women who have been honored not only this year, but in years gone by. Each of them have had the courage to bravely carve new paths and redefine what was possible.

"Twenty years from now, you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than those you did. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from safe harbor. Catch the wind in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover."

— Mark Twain, Great American Writer

Photo Credit: Tony Doddo

Ann Englert and Sue Downes pose at the grand entrance
Photo Credit: John Calabrese, Jobson

Check Out OWA's Sponsors